What Would You Do ?

Yesterday I was walking through the LIbrary

and right in front of me was $10 on the floor

it was right out in the middle of the room , no one was standing next to it

so I pick it up and put it in my pocket and walked out as I was about to do .

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some years ago I worked as a checkout operator at one of the Big 2 supermarts

one day an old man came through my checkout and paid with $100 note

I could see a smalll dog ear in the corner but noticed that the note was still complete

thus meaning that two $100 notes were perfectly stuck together

I acessed the situation quickly in my head because I had never struck this before

1- just put it in the register it belongs to C*l*S

2-put it in my pocket no one is ever going to know and the register will balance

3-give it to the old man even though he had no clue and would have recieved the notes joined

anyway I had a quick look  to see that the supervisor was not around pulled the two notes apart

and gave the second one back to the old guy

he was so happy that I thought I had done the right thing but never told any of  my co-workers about it

what do you think you would do ?

Message 1 of 59
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

What Would You Do ?

1st scenario:  Give my name and phone number to the librarian stating that should anyone have lost some money there, they could phone me and identify how much had been lost and we could meet at the Library later for the "hand over".

2nd:  Immediately check if the notes are not counterfeit.  If genuine hand back one $100 note and give appropriate change for the other.

DEB

View solution in original post

Message 6 of 59
Latest reply
58 REPLIES 58

What Would You Do ?

Pick up the ten and give back the hundred. One was found the other would have been theft