Australian Post shipping general discussion

I'm new to this selling bizz. I am confused about shipping. Can anyone from Australia explain how to ship items? what is the best/cheapest/more effecient way I can ship/package items?... I am mostly selling clothes

I accidently printed a shipping label from eBay and I cancelled it (oops. now, I'll have to wait 25 days)

How exactly do I ship/package packages? I need step-by-step instructions

If I did print the SHIPPING LABEL off eBay, can I just go in and grab a Parcel satchel thing for free? or do I have to pay for another one? Can I grab the 500g parcel satchel thing for free or do I have to use my "own" packaging (confused about this too)?

And what's the deal with poly bags? 

which is the best options for used/reselling clothes- auction/buy it now? Any tips?

How do I go about shipping internationally? which option is the best? I am randomly selecting the Auspost International Registered Mail

Message 1 of 8
Latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

I suggest you read the site map about selling.

To use the eBay 500g postage labels you need to purchase 500g eBay satchels from Australia Post. You can't just use any satchel you feel like. And the ones you get from the Post Office are prepaid and run about $8.30. or by 'grab' do you mean 'steal'?

if you need step-by-step instructions for something that simple I suggest you might not be cut out to be a seller.

Do you want us to package your items? Pay the postage for you? Do your listings?

Message 2 of 8
Latest reply

The cheapest way to post clothes under 500g is to use the ebay branded satchels (you buy them on ebay) and use the print postage option, it costs you $7.15 which is added to your ebay bill, the satchels are a few cents, the more you buy the cheaper they are.

Next is your own packaging, that costs $7.45 and you have to write out the address etc and take it to the PO. It does not have as great a degree of protection as they ebay satchels but pretty close.