Down 70% in sales compared to last year

Hi everyone,

Hope you are all well 🙂 I don't know about everyone else but my sales are practically non existent. I have been selling full time on eBay for the last 5 years, I have another store which is my main store but sales are non existent. I don't watch the news (don't like hearing negative things) is there some major crisis in Australia??? Because that's the only thing I can think of. I have double the stock compared to last year, I have mobile friendly template on my main store and my prices are very competitive. What's going on? Does anyone know?

I received an email a few days ago which started with "We have just switched your store on....." What do they mean? Do they just switch it on and off whenever they feel like it?

Any feedback will be appreciated, thanks 🙂

Message 1 of 12
Latest reply
11 REPLIES 11

There's quite a few people here who have had a plummet in sales. There are numerous threads about it on here, possibly still on the first page. Have a read through some of them and you'll see it's not just you.

Message 2 of 12
Latest reply

Like you we have been trading for five years with two basic stores.
October and November have traditionally been our two biggest months of the year. This year we have been down about 65% on sales volume as compared to the same months last year. Despite having more listings and greater variety of products.
I think eBay does not get the traffic volume it once did. However, our website and etsy are also both down too.
Speaking with others in our area we are hearing that other businesses are also doing it tough this year.
In particular some friends who have had a Chinese restaurant in our area for the past 20 years. This year is by far the worst on record. It's barely worth them opening their doors and they say they are close to walking away from it. Performance is so low that it's not even worth anything to sell.