Fee Percentage of Total Sales - how much means you are doing well?

Hello to fellow store holders and sellers on ebay!

I am sure this question has been done many times before, however I did a key word search of the selling forum and couldn't find exactly what I was looking for.

My question is -

On our Invoice each month there is a percentage given for the amount of ebay fees in relation to out total sale amount (excluding postage etc).

My percentage varies a bit, with the highest I ever had being 33% during a period when I was marked as on holidays.

What percentage means you are doing well as an eBay seller?

I would love to hear from others as I need some encouragement to know if I'm doing OK?

Warm regards,

Beautiful Baby Vintage Store

Message 1 of 8
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

beautifullbabyvintage - I have been working ebay as a full time job for several years. Everybody has a different business model, product range etc. so what works for one may not work for some-one else. Some of the things that work for me are

* I work on the KISS principle. ( Keep it simple stupid ). I spend very little time on record keeping. I keep all info that the tax office require and not much else. I figure the more time I spend on record keeping, the less time I spend actually making money.

* I try to have efficient listing systems using standard templates and just changing photos and a few words in item description to speed up listing times. I work to a goal of listing a minimum of $1000 worth of items per full listing day. If I spend the morning packing, I work on $500 worth of listings in the afternoon. I just keep going untill they are done.

* I try to use standardised packing systems and products to make packing efficient time wise. I have a packing area set up with all packing products within easy reach.

* I answer questions politely and acurately without using too many words. Time is money.