High lost rates on Large Letters

Hi Guys

I use australia post large letter to send most of my items, but I found out there are about 2~3 letters lost in 100 items. As it's not trackable, I can not tell if the buyer lied.

I print out all the addresses, and matching the postcode and suburb, using stamps to show the postage, drop the letters in the red street box. 

For those claimed not received buyers, I confirm the address with them and double check with google maps, so all those addresses are valid.  All claims made  at least 2 weeks  after posted. I have not received any undelivered letter .

I am still new to ebay, I have no idea if this 2~3% lost rates reasonable or not.

Message 1 of 13
Latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

I have been getting about 1/400 "lost" which I find quite remarkable. When I first started it was quite a bit higher for some reason.

Also I have been buying stamps on ebay at about 75% face value to "self insure". I also register items at my own cost if I feel the need and hand my mail over the counter, if that makes any difference I don't know.

For lost items I originally offered a resend or refund but now I just do a resend (I only ever had one person want a refund in all my time on ebay), confirming the address details with the customer, and then sometimes block them if I think something is up.

Message 2 of 13
Latest reply

I have also stuffed up the address and had items returned at a rate of about 1/2500

Message 3 of 13
Latest reply

I haven't had any lost over 10 years of selling on and off. I am not a high volume seller though.

Today I used a prepaid registered post (A4 size) large envelope, costing $6.20  to send an item that was worth nearly $50. I wouldn't want that lost in the post. The cost covers tracking number, signature on delivery & compensation for any loss or damage up to $100.

Message 4 of 13
Latest reply

Most of our items also go out by large letter. Also from our local red street box like you.