Mechanic Looking for automotive parts position,brisbane south side

Hi there, can anyone out there help? Been a mechanic for the last 20 years and 2 years ago suffered a shoulder injury. My shoulder is now comming right (After surgery) BUT I have to hang up the spanners. I  would love to get into the parts side of things and see there is a lack of experience behind some counters. If anyone knows anyone that could help me get started in the automotive parts etc, would be much Appreciated!! Thanks for taking the time to Veiw this tread.

Message 1 of 6
Latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Some links for you to look at. If you are retraining specifically because of your injury you may be able to get some government assistance. There are also remote courses available. From my experience (I am a mechanic turned parts interpreter) Trust me... parts interpretation is not as easy as it looks.... or as easy as some people make it look The fatal mistake (from experience) is declaring to a customer "Trust me....I am a mechanic" It's just easier to assist them all you can but don't tell them what you think is wrong with their car, how to fix it, how to bodge it or how much it will cost to fix because if you mention any of the aforesaid and you get a comeback because of a massive breakdown.... then all hell generally breaks loose... even if it was not your fault. You may be able to apply for RPL (recognition of prior learning) to cover someof your cert 2 Lastly dealerships often offer adult traineeships (because they get you cheap0 but advertise them more in the car sales line like this one advertised as Automotive Salesperson (Parts Interpreting) http://qtis.training.qld.gov.au/Qualification/Details?modelCode=AUR31012A&version=0&trainingCatalogN... Hope this helps cheers Dave course links below http://www.developmyskills.com.au/course/certificate-2-in-automotive-sales-aur21105 http://training.gov.au/Training/Details/AUR21105?releaseId=76420799-8c94-4667-8e1a-3487e85489d8&tabl...