I've decided to start selling again after almost a year of not selling (or buying much) and have encountered many changes, so I filled in all details but now system keeps telling me I need to verify "micro deposits" by LOGGING into my bank acct from ebay.  It will be a cold day in he** before I log into my acct from anywhere but my bank's official web site.

I can see the 2 micro deposits in my acct so why does ebay insist that I log in from their site?

Can anyone explain this nonsense, please?

Message 1 of 13
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Log into bank from ebay?

I'm not an eBay seller, so bear in mind that I've no personal experience of verifying my identity in order to sell on eBay.

From eBay's help page Registering as a seller:

Logging into your bank

When verifying your account, if your bank is available in the Add a bank account list, you can select it and log in directly with your bank credentials. This is the fastest way to verify your bank account.

Using micro-deposits

Alternatively, you can choose to verify your account using micro-deposits.

If you choose this option, we'll send two micro-deposits (small payments) to your linked bank account. It can take a few days for the micro-deposits to reach your bank account, depending on your financial institution. Once they've reached your account, sign into My eBay or Seller Hub and follow the instructions on the banner to enter and confirm the micro-deposit amounts to verify your account.

In other words, you should (apparently) have the option either to log in from eBay, or to type in the micro-deposit amounts in My eBay/Seller Hub. In that second option, I don't see any mention of having to log in to your bank account from eBay's site. Presumably you would see the micro-deposit amounts within a day or so in your bank account (which you would access in a separate tab/window on your computer, or from another device - i.e., NOT via eBay).

I hope that helps.