How does an INR work with eBay or Paypal

Hi everyone

I am new to the whole INR case, as I have been fortunate enough to not have had any delivery issues in the past. Unfortunately, my latest parcel appears to have gone missing so I am after a bit of advice.

I recently purchased an item from a seller in Sydney and my home address is only located a 5 hours drive away, so parcels typically take 3 business days by auspost. The seller claimed that he sent it on 9/6 so it has been 9 business days now. Due to the covid-19 situation, I am expecting things to take longer so I might give it another week just to be sure that is indeed lost.

Also, it is worth noting that the seller advertised on the listing that the item would be sent in a tracked satchel. However, when I contacted them for the tracking number, they said they sent it in a letter and thus did not post via a tracked service. This obviously makes it difficult as I can't contact auspost to try and locate it. I sent them a polite message to ask why they did not use the advertised postal method, but they have stopped replying to me. So, I anticipate that the seller will most likely refuse to refund me if I end up having to contact them next week.

In the event that I do have to open a case, should I open it with eBay or Paypal? Since the seller has no tracking, they have no proof of delivery. But is proof of lodgement sufficient for eBay or Paypal? i.e. a post office receipt. The item was worth $60 so I really don't want to lose my money because the seller decided to use a cheaper method of postage.

Thanks everyone

Message 1 of 8
Latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

Open the dispute through eBay. If the seller sent it untracked, you will win the dispute. If they ignore the dispute, as soon as it allows, ask eBay to step in and help. They will close the dispute in your favour.

Message 2 of 8
Latest reply