ID for T Limoge porcelain item please fake or not

Hallo it appears I have inadvertently sold a piece of porcelain as Limoges -  the buyer  told me I had no shame and that it was a fake ($14 paid). I have apologised for selling a fake (not for having no shame, I did not appreciate that remark!) and cancelled the transaction. It is a little jug, approx 11cm high. But to set MY mind at peace, can Limoges enthusiasts shed some light on what appears to be a fake (where do these come from?). Sadly, I bought it some years ago after being told it was Limoges. Live and learn! 

Message 1 of 11
Latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

i'm no expert either , is this real ? dees 051.JPGdees 051.JPG

Message 2 of 11
Latest reply

Well I think the first give-away is that LIMOGES is an area in France, rather than a factory. Your stamp says LIMOGE. I believe most fake Limoges comes from China these days. If a stamp says Limoges China it means made in China. Or alternatively Limoges can be slightly mis-spelt (as yours was.)

Message 3 of 11
Latest reply

@lakeland27 wrote:

i'm no expert either , is this real ? dees 051.JPGdees 051.JPG

I believe this is a mark of the Haviland factory - GDA Limoges (Gerard, Duffraisseix & Abbott). Yours is refrred to as the "green wreath mark" which it appears was used 1900-1953. Not all genuine Limoges is of great value - I believe there were about 50 factories in the Limoges area producing in the 1920's.  And of course production goes on today. Vintage Limoges should be of nice quality, light in weight, and with a thin almost translucent feel. Sadly probably the same cannot be said of modern day fakes.

Message 4 of 11
Latest reply

@maroubramagpies wrote: