Buyer wants 2 weeks to pay for item.

I am fairly new to the selling side of Ebay and all of my sales have gone beautifully so far. I wanted to get some ideas from some experienced Ebayers about a recent sale of mine.

It was a Pick Up Only sale, the buyer ( very new- no feedback) took just under two days to get back to me after I invoiced them stating that they are away for two weeks and can they pick up the item after that.

I replied with a 'no worries' but asked whether they could at least put the money in PayPal ( it's literally a $6 sale with no delivery fees).

What is the correct procedure here? I'm kind of regretting being so relaxed about the buyers request to hold the item. And has anyone else come across something like this?

Thanks in advance for your help:)

Message 1 of 14
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

We normally accept such requests for extended payment times. But our items are rarely pickup. But if they are we ask for cash at the door please. Also for pickup/cash items there is no seller protection.

If the day they asked for payment to be made by passes, then we raise an unpid item duspute (UID). This then gives them a further 4-days to pay. If they still haven't paid then we close the case and get back our Final Value Fee (FVF).

In probably about 50% of cases where the buyer asks for an extension they never pay or make any further contact. But that's what the UID process is there for.

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 14
Latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

We normally accept such requests for extended payment times. But our items are rarely pickup. But if they are we ask for cash at the door please. Also for pickup/cash items there is no seller protection.

If the day they asked for payment to be made by passes, then we raise an unpid item duspute (UID). This then gives them a further 4-days to pay. If they still haven't paid then we close the case and get back our Final Value Fee (FVF).