Buyers with Unpaid Items

morgonfika
Community Member

I'm new to selling on Ebay and I've just had to open my first Unpaid Item case. Smiley Sad

Been reading through some of your posts, it seems that some of you have encountered many of these unpaid item cases. I don't understand how this happens. The buyers who do not pay for the items have regular accounts just like you and I. They have positive feedback from other sellers. They are attached to real names and real addresses. They are not new accounts either. Are these real people who go out of their way to hurt someone's business?

Message 1 of 13
Latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

Buyers with Unpaid Items

Some people make a habit of it, for example, they might bid on 10 identical things hoping to win one, then win all 10. They'll pay for the cheapest one and ignore the rest. Others buy and then change their mind and think by ignoring it it will go away, instead of contacting the seller saying, hey, sorry, but I've changed my mind. Others have life happen, like a sudden admission to hospital, or they or someone they love dies. There are many reasons.

While it's quite unfortunate, you have to remember that 98% of buyers are great. The best way to stop serial non payers is to have buyer requirement blocks set up, which you can do here http://offer.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?BuyerBlockPreferences

The tightest settings are:

Buyers with unpaid strikes - 2 in 12 months

Buyers in a location I don't post to - tick

Buyers with policy violations - 4 in 6 months

Buyers with negative feedback score - you can tick that if you like, but buyers can't get negative feedback so their feedback won't ever be below zero, unless they are a seller with a bad track record.

Buyers who may bid on several of my items and not pay for them - optional. You're not going to know until they buy!