Can anyone offer experiences with courier companies outside of Auspost?

As a seller I have been using Auspost for many years, but with the rising costs I am wondering if it is worth trying out someone else. 

A fair amount of what I sell are small low value items (small satchels), so saving a little on these packages would go a long way to making my business more profitable. I am sending somewhere in the region of 2,500 packages a year.

Even with the discounts I get from buying my prepaid satchels in bulk from Auspost, the cost is still way above what other companies are offering, but I am hesitant to try out any without having any experience.

So if anyone has experience with any of the other courier companies in Australia, how has it gone for you?

Message 1 of 9
Latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

The easiest and most reliable would be Aust. Post mypost business account which would be on average $7.16 per small satchel. Rural is $8.50 but still cheaper than a courier most times.It would take you 8 weeks to get the full discount as you will need to send 320 parcels to receive it but you will get the other discounts as you reach them along the way. 

Message 2 of 9
Latest reply

lyndal1838
Honored Contributor

I have had decades of experience as a courier personally but not as an ebay seller so I will concentrate on advice from a buyer's perspective.

Many buyers, including me, do not like courier delivery.

There many reasons for this but in my case I have mobility issues and can not get to the door in time to take delivery before the driver is gone.

Even after arranging a redelivery the same thing can happen, although many companies will now allow a safe drop.

If you want to use a courier I would advise you not to use Fastway.....they are arguably the worst company in Australia.   Have a look at the very long thread on the boards about the problems with them.