Detailed Seller Ratings - Postage and handling charges

I’m new to selling and these are my DSRs so far:

Item as described 5.0

Communication 5.0

Postage Time 4.9

Postage and handling charges 4.6

Is 4.6 a bad score? Would it discourage you from buying? What can I do to improve it?

I’ve never charged more than it costs me to send – usually less. Never added any kind of handling fee or charged more than quoted in the listing.

If I were to offer free postage, I would have to absorb the cost into the item, and then pay higher eBay fees…  The buyer would still pay the same overall cost anyway. (Most of things I’ve sold are too low value for me to wear the cost myself).

I pretty sure one buyer left a 1 or 2 which has dragged the score down (was 4.8 until yesterday).

As a buyer myself, I never gave much weight to the DSRs – particularly the postage and handling. If I didn’t think the postage cost was acceptable I just wouldn’t buy. I’d never mark a seller down unless they tried to charge more, or had sent my via a cheaper method than stated in the listing. Beginning to wonder if that is that just me though?

Message 1 of 5
Latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

Generally speaking I don't pay much attention to the DSR's for postage and handling. The other three interest me more.

If I am buying an item I can see if someone is overcharging for their P&H and I tend to move onto the next seller if they are doing that. I don't need to see their DSR's to see they are doing the shonky on the postage.

Message 2 of 5
Latest reply

Depending on your volume, this could be a glitch. Your seller dashboard will show you if you have any 1s or 2s. If you have only just got DSRs showing (10 relevant transactions) then a 4 could well drag your star down to 4.6.