How to get satchel to post item in

heko-6371
Community Member

I'm new to selling on eBay and want to sell my first item. Let's say if I were to list an item for the seller to pay $8.95 for postage, is that just for the label or for the satchel as well? How do I acquire the satchel to ship the item in? Does it get sent to me or do I pick it up from an auspost store when I post it? Thanks in advance and please be as specific as possible as I am really confused.

Message 1 of 23
Latest reply
22 REPLIES 22

It is entirely up to you.

You can purchase prepaid satchels from Australia Post.

You can purchase eBay satchels from Australia Post. They are $1.25 for a 5 pack; postage is on top. Depending on where the item is going eBay labels will cost you either $8.65 or $8.95.

You can go to the PO and purchase a satchel and postage for $9.20.

You can sign up to Australia Post MyBusiness. You will need to purchase satchels from AP (same price as eBay satchels). Depending on your volume, discounts can apply. From next week 8 parcels in 8 weeks will attract a discount. I doubt it will be much.

You can use your own packaging, as long as the packed weight is less than 500g, and pay $8.95.

I suggest you do some serious research before you start selling. For example, you will be paying eBay 97c in fees on $8.95 postage

Message 2 of 23
Latest reply

@heko-6371 wrote:

I'm new to selling on eBay and want to sell my first item. Let's say if I were to list an item for the seller to pay $8.95 for postage, is that just for the label or for the satchel as well? How do I acquire the satchel to ship the item in? Does it get sent to me or do I pick it up from an auspost store when I post it? Thanks in advance and please be as specific as possible as I am really confused.