I find it quite incredible that ebay can get away with discrimination based on race or country.

After recieving the promotional email from e-bay giving me an opportunity to share in their 15th birthday celebrations by listing up to 150 items free, when I tried to register I was informed that because I am currently in New Zealand I cannot list on the Australian e-bay website.

"This would have to be discrimination of the worst order".

I am an Australian resident and citizen, but just because I am currently in New Zealand I am not allowed to list items for sale.

I frequently purchase from e-bay sites around the world, so why can't I list my items for sale??

Message 1 of 20
Latest reply
19 REPLIES 19

I find it quite incredible that ebay can get away with discrimination based on race or country.

@raymc1943 wrote:

"This would have to be discrimination of the worst order".

I am an Australian resident and citizen, but just because I am currently in New Zealand I am not allowed to list items for sale.

I frequently purchase from e-bay sites around the world, so why can't I list my items for sale??

Perhaps it has something to do with postage.

By listing items as from Australia - how do you organise local postage from NZ.

Message 2 of 20
Latest reply

NZ's own auction site TradeMe doesn't allow sellers from outside New Zealand unless they can provide a NZ bank account for buyers to pay into.  (At least that's how it worked last time I enquired about selling there a few years back, and they did't allow Paypal either at the time).  I had an ANZ account and thought that would suffice, but was told the Australian  ANZ bank is totally separate and it was not acceptable.

Quicksales doesn't allow sellers outside of Australia and NZ either. 

It is any business' prerogative to decide who can and can't use their service, just as we have the prerogative as sellers to decide who can and can't buy from us.