Pretty certain I'm being scammed with Nigerian shipping request...

ellaedit
Community Member

Hey guys, 

Just wanted your thoughts on this. For context, firstly, I'm not a professional ebayer. Recently made myself clean out all the things I've been hoarding and threw some low to moderately high priced items to recoup some cash

One of my listings was a set of camera lens ($300ish), which was quickly purchased by someone who registered in the US. Wasn't that keen on shipping it overseas but the item isn't too heavy so it's not something that I was completely put off by and just wanted to sell it quick smart

To get to the point and not make it confusing, I'll outline the events in the following points:

- Buyer seemed nice and responsive at first, we had about 2 decent conversations about the item and shipping, still questions unanswered regarding logistics

- Didn't receive any message from ebay about the item that was beyond the norm (which confused me a bit if you read the email below)

- Receive a long winded explanation about his ebay and life situation, sun and moon, before request to basically send it to Nigeria. I have attached his email below its quite long but didn't want to leave it out

- I'm no pro seller as I mentioned, but not so naive to not know right away what this is. My question is, how do I respond and go from there? After which, am I wrong to just go ahead and cancel the item on eBay, do I let them know this occured? - the request being outside of ebay, etc. 

Timeline:

1. Buyer purchased on eBay, I messaged saying "hey thanks! I'll get back to you with the exact shipping cost shortly" etc. 

2. Buyer sends me