Should non paying bidder's be charged a fee?

Hi and thanks to everyone for their advice if only Ebay was as helpful

I know that this probably has been raised before.

But.

Should non paying bidder's be fined? I didn't realise that there were so many.

A simple fee of say $5 (charged by Ebay) that goes to the seller for their time and effort. .

A dishonour fee?  

Placing restriction on an account for non paying is pretty lame. (you bad person don't do it again this month next month go for it.)

They would certainly think twice about bidding on an item and then not pay espescially if the item was under $10.

Come on Ebay if it wasn't for the seller's where would you be?

The million's of dollar's your company has spent on lawyer's to protect yourself yet you don't protect the people that made you.

Yes I know I'm a newbie at selling and I have a lot to learn but this is ridiculous.

Message 1 of 17
Latest reply
16 REPLIES 16

Of course they shouldn't, the seller has lost no (or very little if it is a paid for listing) money and there are often perfectly valid reasons for not paying, how many times has a buyer come to the boards because alarm bells start ringing and we advise them not to pay?

Ebay giive you the ability to give non payers strikes and the option to block any member with more than one strike from bidding or buying. Havinf done so I don't usually need even a whole hand to count the number of non payers across three selling ids per year.

See what a trendsetter I am?
Message 2 of 17
Latest reply

Simple answer is NO

Message 3 of 17
Latest reply

well, i for one am sick of the dodgy bidders that won't even respond to a 'friendly reminder' that they haven't paid for their item.  i value my time and don't like it when someone doesn't give a hoot, then gets away with it.