confusion

I am very new to ebay and find it all a bit confusing to use. I listed an item and someone messaged me an offer. I messaged back saying I have to check the postage real cost and said in the mesage I'd be happy to accept if they were ok with me checking postage first. I didn't hear anything back and in the following 24 hours the item sold at the original price to another person. Help! I don't know what to do. Will this give me a bad rep on ebay? What should I do???

Message 1 of 10
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

confusion

hi birdversion67

welcome to the boards and welcome to selling. There are heaps of great people here. We're all members like you, sellers and/or buyers. Just in case you don't know, eBay doesn't read these boards, we are all members of the public.

I'm still learning the ropes of selling, too. There is so much to learn! Even long-standing members will come to ask for help in clarifying something or ask for a fresh perspective. We learn together.

(Beware of trolls: just ignore them, as difficult as that may be!)

So, back to your actual comment: This has happened before and is a trap for young players, both sellers and buyers. The thing to do now is message the person who made the enquiry and say something like "Thank you for your enquiry. This product is now longer available. This listing was still live during our negotiations and has subsequently been sold. I am sorry for the inconvenience." If you have another of the exact item available for sale you could offer that, and offer to make a special listing. We can discuss that later if necessary.