guidance on shipping for proof of shipping/delivery

ahoy14
Community Member

Hi there, I am SO confused about what is best for sellers to give them protection against buyers' PayPal claims, either fraudulent ("item not received") or genuine.

It seems from what I've read that PayPal more likely pays out to the buyer.  Therefore sellers need to be very careful about postage options.

I've been selling occasional items for a few years now, and had always thought that prepaid satchels (both the red prepaid ones and the eBay click and send) with tracking were sufficient to provide proof of sending and delivery. Now I read this is not the case, PayPal pays next to no attention to tracking info (and I have to say I've found Aust Posts a bit hit-and-miss at times in terms of when/where your item is scanned, so now I ALWAYS lodge at the PO). 

So then there's proof of shipping.  I'd assumed that the lodgement receipt they give you after lodging at the PO was proof of shipping.  But I see now that it's not:  it has no postcode information, only the satchel number so USELESS info for PayPal claims against you because it could've been a satchel sent to anyone, it doesn't prove that you were sending it to your buyer.  Maybe with eBay click and send satchels you at least have the satchel number linked to the buyer via the digital file of the label, so does that comply for proof of shipping?  Who knows, I certainly can't find anything on eBay to confirm this.  With the regular satchels, maybe you're a dead duck because there is absolutely no way to link any buyer info with that satchel number.