which shipping company do i use

muna.sh
Community Member

HI there

I am really new to this. I would like to open a fashion store (clothes, shoes, bags and accessories).

Is Aus post the best option for this?
How can i minimize the shipping costs?
Do shipping companies charge businesses less?

Also, i was told in other forums that if an item is 500g or less i can send it as a big letter (cheaer to ship), would that work for clothes?

Any advice is highly apprecited. i love the amazing help i am getting here from this community.

So thanks in advance 🙂

Message 1 of 15
Latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

A lot depends on where you live. If you live in the city and most of your customers are in the city, couriers could be an option. Most people are happy enough with AP though.

You are only partially correct with the 500g thing. To send large letter it has to be under 500g and under 20mm thick. If it doesn't go through the 20mm slot at the PO, it has to go at parcel rate.

In regards to a business, DO NOT register as a business seller as you lose a few perks and once you're a business seller, you can't unbusiness yourself. If you've not sold before, there will be listing restrictions on your account of 10 items. You can't list/sell more than 10 a month until your prove yourself, or you have another account that is an established selling account. It's 10 in total. If you list 10 items and sell one, you can only have 9 listed until next month. If 9 carry over into the new month, you can only list one new item.

Just be aware that when selling clothes, you often encounter carpy buyers. Most are good, but clothing is one of the categories that gets abused by buyers trying to get freebies. If they are to be used clothes, make sure you describe absolutely everything. That includes a pulled thread, a spot that shouldn't be there, EVERYTHING. Something as simple as a pulled thread in the hem could see you being forced to refund and the buyer getting to keep the item.