Seller cancelled transaction after payment without notification.

Hi,

I am new to ebay and dont know what to do about this weird transaction. So this item was on sale with Best Offer option. I sent an option to which the seller sent a counteroffer. I accepted and paid immediately via paypal. In an hour i check my email to see my payment has been refunded. confused i sent a message to seller what is happening. She replied in two words 'Sorry cancelled'.

Can sellers cancel transactions without notification to the buyer? Seems odd to me. when I tried to contact the seller she is not replying to my messages anymore. she has 100% positive reviews (12 actually) .

Message 1 of 15
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

A seller can cancel a transaction through ebay with "out of stock" being the reason, they will normally get a defect for doing so. I would have thought you should have received an email notifying you of the cancellation and reason.

If they refunded directly through paypal then I would assume no notification would come from ebay. They still get a defect and then also pay the ebay fees.

It does seem strange though as they sent a counteroffer.

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 15
Latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

A seller can cancel a transaction through ebay with "out of stock" being the reason, they will normally get a defect for doing so. I would have thought you should have received an email notifying you of the cancellation and reason.

If they refunded directly through paypal then I would assume no notification would come from ebay. They still get a defect and then also pay the ebay fees.

It does seem strange though as they sent a counteroffer.

Message 2 of 15
Latest reply

'Sorry cancelled' to me isn't a valid reason for not going through with the sale.

While a seller cannot be forced to sell you anything if they choose not to the seller isn't demonstrating a good attitude.