Listing aboriginal items.

Hi there,

I was wondering if someone help me in regards to listing a couple of Aboriginal items which seem to have all sorts of rules and regulations. They're left to us from a Deceased estate so we don't have any identifying or authenticity certificates. I have 2 grinding stones?, I have a wooden lizard carving and also another bigger stone that could have been used for cutting. 

Thank you very much.

Debra. 

Message 1 of 8
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Thank you very much definately won't be going overseas thats for sure. 

View solution in original post

Message 8 of 8
Latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

I am not an expert and have never listed Aboriginal artifacts like these.

However I have looked at quite a few current and ended listings under Colllectables /Cultural Religious - like yours a pokerwork animal, and some grinding stones, and they do not appear to have any more authenticity than you have - "deceased estate." One specifically said "Previous ownership unknown." So I am not sure why you think you would be unable to list them.

If you have some reason to suspect they are quite valuable, I would suggest you take them to a bricks and mortar Auction House - most would have a tribal expert who could advise you. Good luck.

Message 2 of 8
Latest reply

Hi there,

thank you very much for your help. I've tried listing one of them and a warning policy notice comes up at the end so I thought I'd better not list them. Maybe I will and see what happens I guess.

Thanks again,

Debra. 

Message 3 of 8
Latest reply

There are standard warnings that comes up for listing many things - original art works, things made of bone, military medals and uniforms - usually they just say IF things are such and such, you need to be aware of so and so.