Purchasing notes from Singapore.

fishermanspocket
Community Member

Let me start by telling you that I am not an expert in coins and notes. I am but a mere humble collector and do sell occasionally.

The reason I am here do this is I purchased a couple of notes from Singapore which arrived in good time considering the had been sent from overseas. I had to do a trip to Brisbane for personal reasons, not being an expert I thought I would take advantage of this to get my note collection professionally graded. I did this and found that the notes purchased from Singapore had been washed and pressed.

These notes were advertised at a lot higher grade than what they really are, who ever did this really new what they were doing.

The notes I purchased were advertised on ebay as being EF or better and aUNC and was quite happy when I received this items and left good feedback the seller. I live in a very remote area and only travel to the cities for the likes of Brisbane once or twice a year. so these notes have been sitting in my collection for a number of months.

After having the notes professionally graded the outcome was these notes would more than likely to have been in F or aVF condition. I guess for those in my position be very careful when grading your notes through photo's.

I sent this message share my experience spark discussions about this.

Fishermanspocket.

Message 1 of 7
Latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Re: Purchasing notes from Singapore.

lyndal1838
Honored Contributor

You would probably be better taking this to the Coins and Collectibles board where there are some experts in the field of coins and banknotes.

We are more about helping with ebay and paypal problems rather than the items that are listed.

Message 2 of 7
Latest reply

It is and always will be a problem buying over the internet.

Firstly one doesn't see the item with the naked eye and secondly many are sellers are selling from home, not qualified to grade.