Yellow bakewells 'Beulah ware' canisters

darsha84
Community Member
Hi there!

I recently purchased a part set of bakewells of Sydney canisters. They are the pale yellow 'beulah ware' and what's missing is the flour canister. I'm relatively new to the pottery scene and from what I'm managed to find is that they seem quite rare in this colour???? Ive looked all over the place for aflour canister and it's just not happening ๐Ÿ™‚ what I'm wondering is, is it quite hard to source these canisters? Does anyone know of somewhere that may have one? Do they come up on eBay regularly or anywhere for that matter?
Any help is very much appreciated ๐Ÿ™‚

Shari
Message 1 of 11
Latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Well, all I can say is good luck!

You will have to join me and do a saved search with a daily email of new listings for canisters in Australian Pottery - I have been looking for months and months for a missing sugar canister from a set of unmarked blue gumnut/gumleaves canisters variously attributed to Melrose, Diana and Bakewells. 

I keep telling myself be patient and one day..... 

Anyway I think it is worthwhile to just keep an eye on what gets listed and you never know  when one will come up.

cheers

Rae

Message 2 of 11
Latest reply

darsha84
Community Member

Oh I had a feeling that would be the case ๐Ÿ˜ž 

My husband and I saw them a couple of months ago in an antiques store in coffs harbour, we actually walked away thinking they were pretty expensive for some ceramic canisters ๐Ÿ™‚ not knowing too much about them. So we carried on home to Brisbane. But we both couldn't stop thinking about them and relented and sent my mum off to get them. It's only know I realise how truly wonderful they are! 

Anyway, I appreciate you taking thetime to reply to me! 

Good luck in your search for a sugar canister! Just incase you're interested I did see a full set of blue gumnut canisters at a local shop the other day for $385. Well at least I'm sure they were gumnut ones!

Thanks