Looking for any stories of severe reaction to sudden withdrawal from Prozac.

josie_q
Community Member

Bit of challenge finding this place these days..

Would appreciate if anyone has heard of, or experienced, a severe reaction to sudden withdrawal from Prozac. Such as psychosis or severe emotional breakdown. I know someone who stopped taking their medication because they were ill. A few days later, they had a severe emotional breakdown, where they behaved totallybout of character. 

I imagine this is rare, although not unheard of. But I would love to hear some personal experiences. Thanks in advance. 

Message 1 of 9
Latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

I have no personal experience with Prozac. However I am aware of a report in the US some years ago that claimed a number of homicides were committed by people who abruptly ceased Prozac. They claimed it caused extreme aggression in some people. But it needs to be taken into consideration that the people who made the claim were very anti-Prozac, and were possibly financed by a rival company.

From personal observations, I have noticed that some people who abruptly cease Prozac return to the mental and emotional states they were in prior to going on the drug. Knowledge about the person's previous states is important. The most important thing is to ensure medical supervision and a gradual reduction in dosage over time if the person is adamant that they want to stop taking it. This applies virtually to all anti-depressants as the blood levels need to be reduced gradually, or complications (some serious) may develop.

Message 2 of 9
Latest reply

Thank you. I appreciate your reply. This was not a deliberate ceasing of it, rather they were really quite unwell and just forgot. But the emotional breakdown was way beyond the original issue, which was just the stress of a high powered job and some personal strains. The doctor prescribed it to assist with dealing with high stress levels. 

Message 3 of 9
Latest reply