Work place injury

Hi everyone.

i work as a cleaner and in July this year I had a fall at work which pretty much destroyed my left elbow.

Six weeks ago I had a full elbow reconstruction. 

My work and work cover have been great.

My surgeon has said I will not be back at work this year and he is doubtful I will ever be able to go back to my job ever again.

So work cover are talking about me seeing a workplace consultant and starting "external work hardening".

Anyone else done anything like this? What is it?

photo walkingdeadtag_zpsbaca2fdd.jpg
Message 1 of 15
Latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

Re: Work place injury

@davidc4430 wrote:

workcover doesnt go on forever i suspect.

has to come a day when workcover stops and unemployment starts.

It can go on until the doctors say there is no hope of the person ever going back to their orginal job.   They should either make a lump sum settlement or retrain the person for another job that they can do.   They cannot just dump anyone on unployment benefits.

Message 11 of 15
Latest reply

It's against the law to sack someone on workcover. If it turns out to be long term off work, they cut your payments back to a fraction of what you''d be earning while working. The insurance cuts the payments, not the employer.

I was a victim of workcover in the early 90's. Hated it at the time, but I couldn't work my job to full capacity and retrained to what I'm doing now. I often say that doing my back in was the best thing that could have happened because I can honestly say I love my job. When they discussed retraining I was allowed to tell them what I was interested in. I wanted to become a mechanic but they wouldn't approve that with a back injury!

Message 12 of 15
Latest reply

Sheesh DDB, you can not take a trick can you ?

As if you hadn't enough to deal with..........