Work place injury

Hi everyone.

i work as a cleaner and in July this year I had a fall at work which pretty much destroyed my left elbow.

Six weeks ago I had a full elbow reconstruction. 

My work and work cover have been great.

My surgeon has said I will not be back at work this year and he is doubtful I will ever be able to go back to my job ever again.

So work cover are talking about me seeing a workplace consultant and starting "external work hardening".

Anyone else done anything like this? What is it?

photo walkingdeadtag_zpsbaca2fdd.jpg
Message 1 of 15
Latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

Work place injury

mloreason
Community Member

I just looked it up daydream. You more than likely know that the idea is to place you in an unpaid position with an employer for the purpose of gaining skills. Then ideally that employer or another one will offer you a paid position utilising your newly gained skills. I don't know how successful it is.

Message 2 of 15
Latest reply

Work place injury

lyndal1838
Honored Contributor

To put it crudely, they want to retrain you for something else so they can stop paying you what you are entitled to.

Message 3 of 15
Latest reply

Work place injury

They were going to do something like that for me back 1996 when I mangled my right hand but I went back to

were I had been working in a leading hand role instead as they deemed my injury to severe for the program to

work.

It may have changed since then but it's still to reduce their responsibility.

As mentioned,the idea is to retrain you where you don't need to use that left arm/elbow as much and get you

alternative employment so they don't have to keep paying you and it would also reduce any payout as they

will state that the injury doesn't affect you much.

Just make certain that you let them know if there is any problem with it,(both mentally and physically).

It may work as long as they don't try and put you in a job that is going to test you to much and the skill