Opening computer tower - what is the legal situation ?

Just wondering the legalities of opening a computer tower case to say execute internal device upgrade , keeping in mind the computer is 240v mains powered , and so has the appearance of being illegal for a non- a grade electrician to work on.

In other words is a desktop computer classified legally as a mains power device or low voltage or are there sub-sections of law that allow opening the case ?  

Is it legal for a non-a grade electricion to open the case for maintenance and upgrade tasks ?

No opinions please just legal regs , legal considerations valid in Victoria , Australia , by those familiar with the design of computers.

My problem in VIC is the consideration by non and vested interests that it is illegal for a non- "a grade" electrician to open a computer case - so has become a problem for me  in developing a niche computer related service, as I am not a sparkie by trade

Message 1 of 14
Latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

Re: Opening computer tower - what is the legal situation ?

Now just to clarify some design technicalities : A laptop computer has an external ac adapter which is plugged into the main power supply and 18v dc output is connected to the laptop , clearly a dc low voltage device

Desktop computers have an AC Adapter as well but is internal , and like the laptop is a sealed unit but called the Power Supply Unit . The output cables supply dc 12V , 5V and 3.3V 

So while the desktop computer is plugged into mains power , the accessible internal components are dc low voltage 

By design the computer , unlike domestic white goods , locate the mains power components in a metal case which is tamper sealed.

This was obviously to ensure safely for less qualified workers and the computer owner , however a functionally low voltage classification is contentious 

Message 11 of 14
Latest reply

Now some info from the newly unearthed Electrical safety Act 1998 v.072 ( State of Victoria only )