Buyer disputes, claiming only one item sent when I sent two.

Hi ebay sellers, I have had a couple of sales recently where the buyer is claiming that they recieved only one item when they ordered two -  i sent them both out in the same tracked parcel, I know I did not make this mistake, I always triple check before posting out and mark them off as I'm packing and sending out. I have been selling on ebay since 2000, my last account was a commercial account that went with the sale of my business. 

I get the feeling because the items im selling are such a low value items and if they open a dispute they know that is more expensisive for me to send out a second item that i will just give a refund.  This has happened to me 3 times in the last 3 weeks... is this a loophole that buyers are aware of to get free stuff? 

anyone had this experience? 

whats the best way to deal with this?

Message 1 of 27
Latest reply
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

There's very little you can do.

I'd apologise 'that the second item has somehow gone missing from the satchel during transit', and ask them to open a return request so they return the "one" that was received.

Basically, if they want to to continue the charade, it'll involve them packing the item up and making a trip to the post office, then waiting for the refund process to play out.

Maybe they'll continue with their bluff, maybe they'll "find'" the second item on the ground, and all will be well.

But if you're going to be out of pocket, may as well make them work for their freebie.

If they ask why you won't send a replacement, tell them you don't want to risk further disappointment if the replacement also goes "missing."

And of course, add them to your blocked list.