First time shipping

Hi everyone,

I have been buying from Ebay but recently decided to look into selling on eBay. I am a newbie and i want to sell 3-4 pairs of shoes and I reckon I would need the Auspost Large/extra large box for it. However, i see that the Auspost/ebay site sells the boxes in minimum quantities of 20. In this case am I better of going to the post office and just buy 1 box per shoe? Or is there a alternative/cost effective way to go about this?

Thanks, stay safe and have a good one.

Message 1 of 10
Latest reply
9 REPLIES 9

First time shipping

For that quantity just buying from the post office individually will probably be easiest.

You might find cheaper boxes from somewhere like Officeworks or another supplier, but savings are likely going to be in the tens of cents only, so not really worth the time spent searching.

If you have some bubble-wrap or other packaging laying around, you might also be able to send in pre-paid satchels instead of boxes, though it'll depend on the type and value of the shoes you wish to sell.

Make sure you're aware of the eBay's selling fees before you list anything. And check within your account to see if you have any selling offers available - sometimes eBay will try to entice people to sell with a small number of free listings that don't charge a listing or final value fee - it'd be worth taking advantage of if available to you.

Generally for any eBay selling offer you'll first need to accept it, and then it will apply to items listed after the acceptance.

When you post your sold items, be sure to lodge them over the counter at the post office so you can obtain a lodgement receipt. The tracking number it contains is important, especially if you encounter a buyer who disputes receiving the item, so don't lose it!