Have i been scamed???

I placed 6 seperate items on ebay for sale, all with a buy now price totalling AU$1500.00. Someone brought them, I was extatic. Then an email message came through stating the seller is in New Zealand, not Australia where I'm based. When I checked the seller ID it is for someone in the United States. The total price and different locations have me worried. I have sent off the invoice and request for payment and am now waiting for a reply. If this all falls through do I get my fees back? This is my first time ebay selling and so far I'm pretty nervous.

Thanks

Message 1 of 11
Latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Re: Have i been scamed???

hi wait and see if they pay first, if not go to the item and on the right hand side click on more actions then resolve a problem and just follow the prompts. E bay will credit you the selling fee if they do not pay but not the listing fee.

Message 2 of 11
Latest reply

Ok. Thanks for the reply.
Message 3 of 11
Latest reply

Did you have in your listing that you post to worldwide? or just australia and new zealand. Is the ID registered in the US or is the address for the US. If you only had australia and new zealand listed as your sell to countries then you can refuse to post it to the US if you are worried. If you are posting it please make sure you used registered post so you have proof of shipment.
Message 4 of 11
Latest reply

As the items were of high value, you should be very wary of some common scam tactics.

Do not fall for a fake PayPal payment notification - if you receive one, verify it was a legitimate payment by logging directly into your account (not through links in emails), and also by checking the payment status on eBay. Also don't fall for the "money is being held with an escrow service and will be released once you post the item" trick.

Cease all communication with the buyer if they ask you to post to an odd location - especially Nigeria - or say something/anything about being on an oil rig.