I believe buyer has item won't pay

As a newbie I wasn't aware of the benefits of tracking and sent an item to the US right at the start of the pandemic without tracking. Buyer claimed not to have received and EBay reimbursed her.The item hasn't been returned to me after all these months so I reckon she has it. Should I make a payment request through PayPal? 

Message 1 of 9
Latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

@tathraman,

Would you really class yourself as a newbie? You've been an eBay member since 2001, and have been selling for some years...

You may perhaps be less experienced with sending items overseas, or inexperienced with disputes. Is that possibly what you meant?

To track or not to track... it's a question of item value and whether or not the item is the sort of thing likely to be purchased by would-be purloiners. And in these mad and difficult times, when the world is in the mouth of a gasping pandemic, posting overseas has a greatly increased level of difficulty.

You should probably read some of Australia Post's disclaimers and updated advices about their delivery - in particular, international delivery. It's entirely possible that the item you posted is still in a warehouse somewhere... or on a ship en route... or lost in the general chaos... or indeed nestled in the buyer's pernicious hands...

But you can't assume the hands are pernicious or that they hold anything other than a glass full of green smoothie, and even that is a moot point.

You have no tracking, hence no proof that the item was delivered. PayPal would have no basis on which to give you a refund of the refund. I'm sorry...

Message 2 of 9
Latest reply

Yeah - sadly, I guess you're right. Thanks anyhow for a splendidly elegant reply.
Message 3 of 9
Latest reply

curtsey.gif

Message 4 of 9
Latest reply