Opened store - now no sales

Hi, I am rather new to eBay selling. I have a single product which was selling about one per day, so I figured I should open a store so the listing would gain rank.

However, after opening the store one month ago, I have not had a single sale ever since.

Why would this be? The listing is exactly the same apart from that it is now "good until sold"

Message 1 of 15
Latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

If I was a buyer of this item there are a couple of things I see on the listing that would have me running for the hills.

Your postage charges are high and could be considered profiteering.

$2.50 when it would cost you 60-cents (if the thickness is 5mm or less) plus envelope and possibly a label. So no more than $1.00. I think $2.00 postage would be more attractive for this item.

$12.00 for express option when the Aust Post fee is $10.55 for the 500-gram satchel. I know you will lose some of that in fees but we just suck that up so the buyer just sees the Aust Post fee and nothing more. Works for us!

I see a couple of things in the listings that might be a contributing factor in the search rankings.

Firstly your pics are contravening the new picture rules. No borders or embedded text apart from watermarks.

Also check your picture size. At least 500-pixels on the longest side.

I see an embedded link to amazon in your description. Off-ebay links are a no-no.

Also eBay now prefer 30-day returns to qualify for better rankings and to get the "eBay Premium Service" badge.

Along with FREE Post, 30-day returns, compliant pictures etc.

Others may spot some other aspects I have missed.

Message 2 of 15
Latest reply

I wouldn't want a pair of scissors posted as a 60cent letter. There is nothing wrong with it being posted as a large letter for 2.50. 1.20 for the post, 1.30 for the padded envelope, labels etc you could hardly call that profiteering or excessive.
Message 3 of 15
Latest reply