copyright breach?

Hi all

I am a casual graphic designer, recently thinking about print my designs on mug and sell on ebay.

Now, I am not too familiar with copyright law in Australia, wondering if you guys can share some light.

For example:

1 - if I design a logo or a character from scratch, of course there is most likely not going to be any copyright problem.

2 - if I just copy and paste some picture from internet, say, a movie poster, that's copyright infringement, isn't it?

3 - if I draw a picture of a bat, with no text that says "Batman", then print on mug and sell, is that copyright infringement?

What if I put "Batman" in listing title? Will that change anything?

Please let me know.

Thanks.

Message 1 of 5
Latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

copyright breach?

copyright breach?

I am pretty sure the owners of  "Batman" has a copyright on the name as a brand.

Just like you cannot use "Panadol" or "Coco Pops".

Even if you used Bat Man as two seperate descriptive words, I think you will find losing such a battle.

Not to mention the lack of ethics will see your business lose sales from those you want as customers.

image host
Message 4 of 5
Latest reply

copyright breach?

There are two things you need to consider, particularly when it comes to graphics, logos, and super hero names (plus things like popular phrases).

The first is copyright - this pretty much automatically applies to all created works, no registration etc of the work is required, and by default the creator of the work is the copyright holder unless they pass the rights to someone else. You need to seek permission to use any work that is protected by copyright, especially as you intend to use it for commercial purposes (that generally requires a license, and fees).