Possible shill bidder?

cyo27
Community Member

Hi guys,

I'm very new to bidding so please excuse me if I'm way off the mark or not understanding things properly. I just want to get your opinion on whether or not I may be going head to head with a shill bidder. Below is the current bidding history for the item:

Screenshot_20210419-225241_Chrome.jpg

I normally don't bid at all until the last minute, but I was recently burned when a seller ended the auction early on an item I really wanted. So this time I thought I'd put my max bid in and see what happens.

I was the one who pushed the bid price up to $60, and I'm currently the highest bidder. It's the 5***2 fellow I'm not sure about. They seem to keep coming back every few hours to put a new bid in, and I just find it a bit odd that they keep trying despite getting beaten by my max bid every time. I checked out their profile and they've only bid on 2 other items this month, from different sellers and no retractions. Am I simply overthinking this or could this person be a shill bidder? Thank you in advance for your assistance. 

Message 1 of 24
Latest reply
23 REPLIES 23

Re: Possible shill bidder?

@katistrophik wrote:

Well at least the OP had the good sense to know whose advice to take, thank goodness.

------------------------------------------

hahaha.  Could have been the end of the world by the way you stretch it. The reason papermoon.lady had her post selected as a solution is that she gave an honest account of of something she had experienced and also because her post was more intelligent than others suggesting it was just a benign action on the part of the bidder.

@katistrophik wrote:

How would they have felt had they reported that poor innocent buyer for doing nothing more than most nibblers do LOL

QUOTE: "poor innocent buyer". Great choice of words.  Innocent, quite possibly! Poor? Hmmm.