Possible shill bidder?

cyo27
Community Member

Hi guys,

I'm very new to bidding so please excuse me if I'm way off the mark or not understanding things properly. I just want to get your opinion on whether or not I may be going head to head with a shill bidder. Below is the current bidding history for the item:

Screenshot_20210419-225241_Chrome.jpg

I normally don't bid at all until the last minute, but I was recently burned when a seller ended the auction early on an item I really wanted. So this time I thought I'd put my max bid in and see what happens.

I was the one who pushed the bid price up to $60, and I'm currently the highest bidder. It's the 5***2 fellow I'm not sure about. They seem to keep coming back every few hours to put a new bid in, and I just find it a bit odd that they keep trying despite getting beaten by my max bid every time. I checked out their profile and they've only bid on 2 other items this month, from different sellers and no retractions. Am I simply overthinking this or could this person be a shill bidder? Thank you in advance for your assistance. 

Message 1 of 24
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Possible shill bidder?

Most probably a newbie who followed the instructions on the screen "enter (the amount) or more" and got the message that he had been outbid every time up to your maximum bid. I remember that with my very first auction I did the same. And as padi said, that's exactly why people bid towards the end, but I know, sometimes sellers do accept offers or maybe they sell the item on another site, so they end the auction. It has happened to me too, although not so often.

View solution in original post

Message 3 of 24
Latest reply
23 REPLIES 23

Possible shill bidder?

Unlikely to be a shill bidder since they've bid on other seller's item and have no retractions. To me they just look like "a nibble bidder", that's the chances you take if you put your maximum bid in early.