We need to stop these false advertisements

rbh1961
Community Member

So I just bought a pair of gumboots advertised as follows, (cut & paste wording)

Quality Work Gumboots Gum Boots Safety Knee Length Industrial Heavy Duty gumboot

BUT they are NOT EVEN CLOSE to that description, they're a cheap, ill fitting, poorly constructed boot that would last 12 months, I'm a 60+ yo farmer, 6th generation so I reckon I know gumboots as I've worn then since I could walk.  So I know what I should have got based on the description and I understand consumer law SO WHY THE BLOODY HELL DOESN'T EBAY???   How do we stop this from continuing?

Message 1 of 40
Latest reply
39 REPLIES 39

Where is the seller registered? You can see on their feedback page where they are based.

Maybe the item came from a cheap Chinese manufacturer.

What was the sellers feedback like? Any issues?

Or item number?

As the buyer, you have all the power to get a refund at your fingertips.

You can open a case for Not as Described. If the seller is in Australia and they want them back, they will have to send you a shipping label, or refund. If the seller is overseas and they want them back, they will need to send you the postage funds, or refund you. Never let a seller persuade you to return something at your cost.

Persist with a refund and perhaps investigate shopping with the bigger reliable retailers who have b&m stores. Ebay is not always the place to get the quality you need, tbh.

Message 2 of 40
Latest reply

From the "wonderful" seller ?

Did you really think you were going to get a quality pair of gumboots for under 14 bucks ? Not going to happen.

Do as Jelly said and open a dispute for "item not as described",

"Start me up I'll never stop......"
Message 3 of 40
Latest reply

You stop it by buying Australian....check seller's f/b for where they are located

Message 4 of 40
Latest reply

As a 60+ farmer - I guess you would know exactly where to buy your gumboots. 

Certainly not here - on eBay.