Brother QL 570 and aust post

Does anyone else use this printer for thier labels. I have been using this printer for over 8 years and never had a problem. A couple of months ago I started getting DL envelopes I send returned to me from the Perth Mail Center. Not just a couple but over 30. Oz post said it was the font I was using so I changed it  ..then they came up with other **bleep** and I finally called the ombudsman on them and all was good ..... for a while. Last week I had 2 envelopes marked return to sender from the Perth mail center.

They suggested I start hand writting my address labels . Seriously !   Now they think the labels have a shine on them that is confussing there multi million dollar sorting machines. 

Just curious if anyone else has had problems using this printer and labels. I use the same labels on large letters and parcels with no problems. I also send a couple of hundred DL envelopes a month and its only like 1 % of them come back.

Message 1 of 5
Latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

Re: Brother QL 570 and aust post

Sticks I have one of these and there has never been a problem.

I use the 62mm tape with the address details printed across the width with font size being automatic.

The tape I use is aftermarket bought on eBay from seller bestdealsoz:

DK22205-BROTHER-COMPATIBLE-CONTINUOUS-LABELS-62m

My font is Arial and my line layout is:

1. Name

2. Street

3. Suburb/Town

4. State and Postcode

Font size is automatic but usually between 18 and 24 and my finished labels are usually 62mm x 35mm (or thereabouts)

I will abbreviate the title of long state names like New South Wales to NSW 2XXX in order to keep the font size up.

I mainly do this for the postie who will manually organise his run.

Sometimes if I have a really long hyphenated name the font size will shrink considerably but I've never encountered a problem with that.

I'm in Qld and use 2 different sorting centres but both have been fine with these labels and their structure.