Can I sell plants with soil?

I'm fairly new to selling on eBay and have sold a few of my personal stock to clear the place up a bit.

I have purchased various plants on eBay and they always come bare-rooted with no soil. But I notice some people say they sell plants with pots. There is no mention of whether they come with soil or not and I haven't actually bought any of these plants.

I'm in QLD and looking up the eBay seed and plant policy, it's a bit ambiguous.

Message 1 of 20
Latest reply
19 REPLIES 19

Re: Can I sell plants with soil?

@mobius2011 wrote:

I notice that on any of the sellers I have bought from, they say we don't post to WA, NT or TAS due to quarantine restrictions. They obviously know something I don't, or they have just copied others. But I can't find why these particular states are different.

all I can say is that it is easy to find these things. Just do a Google search for 'primary industries western australia' and then click on the web link for the official government site . . . where you can do site searches to find information.

I  am posting from my mobile so I have limited capacity to post links or pics . . . but it only took me about 3 minutes of searching after reading your post above for me to find information.

Similar searches for the other states will get you to official sites . . . but just remember that just because you can't find info doesn't mean there is none out there.

Bottom line is that you need to ask yourself "do I want to risk the biosecurity of other states by sending soil interstate?"

Found a way to post the link for WA

https://www.agric.wa.gov.au/importing-plant-and-plant-products/importing-plants-bulbs-and-cut-flower...

Message 11 of 20
Latest reply