Help Please. Buyer bought a buy it now but was supposed to send me a best offer.

Hello.

I am sorry to bother you  but I have a lovely buyer who asked me to list an item that had ended at a reduced price to which I agreed to. I put in a large buy it now with best offer and as a private listing and asked her to send me an offer of $50.00. The buy it now of $500 was to stop others from buying it. She has accidently bought it at the amount of $500.00. Her pension arrives on Thursday and there is no way I would ask her to go through with it but I was hoping some-one here might be able to advise if there was an easy way I could help her out of this amount and change it back to the amount we both had agreed to which was $50.00 with free postage. The buyer is not very good with computers and I am still learning myself how to navigate ebay. The item number is 161748101995.

Thank for any help you can give me.

Message 1 of 17
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Help Please. Buyer bought a buy it now but was supposed to send me a best offer.

Since there has been communication between you and the buyer about this I would raise a cancellation request selecting the reason as buyer requested. Don't choose the out of sock reason as this will give you a defect.

You will need to explain to your buyer that she needs to accept/agree to complete the cancellation.

Once that is done then relist it and try to get her to choose the correct button this time.

You should not get a defect out of doing it this way but I would probably call ebay first and discuss your plan with them.

View solution in original post

Message 6 of 17
Latest reply
16 REPLIES 16

I think the best thing you can do is to ring eBay and explain the situation.  Alternatively you can cancel the sale citing an error in the listing or something like.  I think you buyer needs to agree to the cancellation, but under the circumstances I don't think they will have any problems with that.

Message 2 of 17