How to get satchel to post item in

heko-6371
Community Member

I'm new to selling on eBay and want to sell my first item. Let's say if I were to list an item for the seller to pay $8.95 for postage, is that just for the label or for the satchel as well? How do I acquire the satchel to ship the item in? Does it get sent to me or do I pick it up from an auspost store when I post it? Thanks in advance and please be as specific as possible as I am really confused.

Message 1 of 23
Latest reply
22 REPLIES 22

Re: How to get satchel to post item in

That last link works

Message 11 of 23
Latest reply

@heko-6371 wrote:

I'm new to selling on eBay and want to sell my first item. Let's say if I were to list an item for the seller to pay $8.95 for postage, is that just for the label or for the satchel as well? How do I acquire the satchel to ship the item in? Does it get sent to me or do I pick it up from an auspost store when I post it? Thanks in advance and please be as specific as possible as I am really confused.

I use eBay branded satchels, purchased from the Australia Post eBay store, and just had 100 small sized ones arrive at a cost of $15, so 15c each.  The price is higher if you buy in smaller quantities, and being new to selling you probably don't wanna stock up in bulk quite yet.  

But I like this style of satchel as it has a clear pocket built in for displaying the postage label, which I generate through eBay and print out on a regular inkjet printer and then just slip into the pocket.

The postage cost actually varies slightly depending on the destination area (local/metro/regional) and you can see a breakdown of the prices charged through eBay here.

For you though, it'ls probably easiest to just buy a satchel from the post office when you go in to post your item. If you think you might want to sell a few items, maybe you'll buy a spare or two to take home with you, so you can pack items there and spend a minimum amount of time at the post office.