I want to try "retail arbitrage" on ebay, how can I minimise shipping costs?

wipa_37
Community Member

I'm 18 and I want to try and earn a bit of extra money by performaing retail arbitrage, AKA finding deals then reselling the items bought.

So lets say I find a great deal for something online, lets say like a blender 50% off on another site or something. Is there any way to work it so it never gets shipped to my address and instead rather straight to the buyer (or maybe like to an ebay warehouse where it can sit until a buyer is found for the item) rather then have to ship it to me, then I have to ship it elsewhere? Having the item shipped to me then to whomever is buying seems like a waste of money, especially since I live in a rural area and shipping costs here are high.

If there is a way to do this, how would this work if I have an international buyer?

Just so everybody knows, this is my very first time selling anything online, definitely the first time selling on ebay, haven't even setup a sellers account yet.

Message 1 of 12
Latest reply
11 REPLIES 11

It's called "dropshipping" and most buyers hate it and it's one of the quickest ways to destroy an on-line business.

It's a bad idea not just because buyers don't like it, but are you totally reliant on the seller you buy off to send the items quickly to your buyer - or indeed send them at all. Also, what are you going to do if the buyer complains or opens a dispute about the item being faulty?

"Start me up I'll never stop......"
Message 2 of 12
Latest reply

Many sellers have considered this function but never used. The risks are too great to your business.

Most of us here buy and re-sell, so what you are wanting to do is not new, but drop-shipping can be a can of worms.

eBay do not have a warehouse, they are merely a platform for you to advertise (like a newspaper) not a storage facility.