Importing - when it arrives at Port... ?

saarzi
Community Member

Is anyone able to tell me - Im importing some stock, and this is my first time doing this... and I really have no idea what Im doing.. but it cant be that hard cant it? lol

When my stuff arrives into port (coming by sea), do they contact me to let me know its there?  Reason I ask is there is only my name and address on the B/L, not phone number or email, and I see no other documentation. 

If not, theres a customs broker in Oz stated on the B/L. Would I just keep calling them til it arrives?  do you have a certain time period to pick it up in?

Also, can the Import Dec be lodged on the day you pick up the items, or does it need to be lodged prior to this day?  I assume I do this, not sure why theres a customers broker involved on the B/L (I didnt ask for one).

ahh theres probably a hundred other questions I dont even know to ask 😄

Message 1 of 13
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

not a courier - this is importing, as in via a container ship. Not regular post or courier that still comes under basic importing laws..

Its over $1000, and bigger than a tea chest - part container. B/L, import declarations, invoices and contracts etc are mandatory. Its a food product with my own labelling, own packaging etc.

No disrespect meant at all, but to be honest Ive had a lot of people tell me its really difficult, get into trouble etc, all by people who havent actually done it, and the entire process is actually very simple.  Its literally laid out step by step on government websites, and customs actually helps (literally has a free service) first time importers of this nature (I havent needed it yet). No one needs an expert, unless they are importing something unusual or illegal (like weapons, animal products?) in large quantities (?). Its really not complicated.

I think I exaggerated my lack of knowledge in my first post a little lol ...