Regarding returns policies

y.susa1
Community Member

Hi Everyone,

I have been selling on ebay for a few months now and it just occured to me that I should really be offering a full proof returns policy on all my listings, as I am starting to encounter alot of people who will ask me for a refund for item not fitting, for a change of mind or they would purchase the item but not pay until a couple of day's later. 

As a result I have changed my settings to accept immediate payments only to prevent late payment situations from buyers and

added measurements of the garments in my listings in an attempt to deter customers who's intentions are.....to get items for free with the excuse of item does not fit. And of course I take as many relevant pictures as possible in high resolution and I ALWAYS take a close up of any faults on any of my garments as well as a medium close up shot so the customer can see where on the garment the fault is. 

So my next step is to get a solid returns policy going for all my items. One that is fair to everyone involved, simple and transparent.

But the question I have is, If I stipulate my own returns policies but a buyer wants to get a refund for an item would they be able to totally disregard my additional returns policies (on top of ebay's money back guarantee) and do the bare minimum requirement under ebay's money back guarantee? I mean would that be enough in ebay or paypals eye's to refund a customer?

I just want to make sure I am doing everything I can to be a good seller.

Thank you in advance for any guidance you can offer me.

Message 1 of 8
Latest reply
7 REPLIES 7