Supposed damaged item

10todd86
Community Member
Hi

I am relatively new to selling on eBay.

I sold an item earlier this month completely brand new in a fully sealed box. My ad clearly stated no refunds accepted.

The buyer is now claiming they opened the box to see the tablet had a cracked screen and is suggesting the box was opened.

I need advice on what to do from here, my gut tells me she has over spent for Christmas and only wants a refund now.

What to do? Thanks in advance
Message 1 of 7
Latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Re: Supposed damaged item

Did the buyer pay with Paypal?

If they did, and they open an item not as described claim, they will need to return the item to you at their expense, tracked, but they will be likely to get the refund if they prove the damage.

Did the buyer send you a photo of the screen? If not, ask for one.

Is it possible the item was damaged in the post? If it was, then look into a postal insurance claim (if you sent it with any cover).

I haven't been in that situation, but those are things to think about.

Paypal's number is 1800-073-263, if it was a Paypal payment it may be a good idea to talk to them about your rights and obligations.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Buttercup: You mock my pain! Man in Black: Life is pain, Highness. Anyone who says differently is selling something.
Message 2 of 7
Latest reply

I don't think it looks good from your side, as you say it was unopened, it is possible the screen may actually have been cracked and not fit for use.

Ask them to file a claim through paypal (they will need to send the item back to you) and take it from there.

Message 3 of 7
Latest reply