Why are big sellers allowed to have their contact details?

I recently attempted to list items with my email address attached, but the eBay knocked me back saying I could not have my email address or phone number included in the listing. Go have a look at any major eBay seller and you will find either a phone number, email address or both.

This supports what I have been saying for the past 10 years or so – eBay supports the major sellers. Their listings get priority in searches when looking for an item and they get better deals on listing and selling fees.

Message 1 of 17
Latest reply
16 REPLIES 16

They only have priority if you a mug enough to use 'best' match as your search default.

They have deals with eBay that allow it, as they are using eBay as an advertising, rather than selling, platform.

It used to be (not sure if it still is) that anchor store owners could put those details in their listings. As you don't appear to have any sort of store, why do you think you would or should get the same deals as those paying guaranteed money up front?

Message 2 of 17
Latest reply

imastawka
Honored Contributor

Maybe if you paid $549.95 per month you could put your details in.

Sound fair to you?

Message 3 of 17
Latest reply

Actually . . . let me think . . .  NO !

Regardless whether you pay $zero per month or $549.95 per month, it is against eBay policy.

Sound fair to you?

@imastawka wrote:

Maybe if you paid $549.95 per month you could put your details in.

Sound fair to you?

Message 4 of 17
Latest reply

Maybe because it is against eBay policy, perhaps? Read the rules - no one is exempt, well so eBay keep telling me

@davewil1964 wrote:

They only have priority if you a mug enough to use 'best' match as your search default.

They have deals with eBay that allow it, as they are using eBay as an advertising, rather than selling, platform.