eBay fees for postage.

I too am frustrated by eBay including postage cost in FVF. It seems very unfair. eBay doesn't do anything with post so why do they have the right to profit from the post service? I know sellers brought this upon themselves in the past by reducing the price of an item and increasing the price of postage, But, surely there is someone in eBay clever enough to work out the estimated price of an item now. If we enter the size and weight we get an estimate of post cost. As a casual seller, trying to supplement my age pension, I am disheartened by the result of selling my once precious items. My recent was a book 1911 vintage with a limited interest group. I know it would be very valuable in the USA but I am not experienced enough to deal with international sales. The book sold for $65 incl post. Post cost $15.99. So, by the time eBay finished I received $22.68 for a book that could be worth $50. I am limited in mobility and computer skills, so although angry with eBay, I feel I am stuck to getting meagre amount for my relics. A raspberry to eBay.

Message 1 of 16
Latest reply
15 REPLIES 15

eBay fees for postage.

AFAIK eBay has charged FVF on postage since 2011, not likely to stop now.

You simply need to build this into your Cost of Sales

Message 2 of 16
Latest reply

eBay fees for postage.

Total Invoice  $65.00  @  13.4%  =   FVF  $8.71  =  BAL  $56.29

Postage    Via ebay or AP                                                    -  $15.99

BALANCE   =   $40.30

Unless you were also paying for additional ebay options or promotion fees.

Message 3 of 16
Latest reply

eBay fees for postage.

I'm confused - that book sold for $49 PLUS postage of $16, which the buyer paid for, not you.

Fees are approx 13.4% of the TOTAL combined value which would have been just under $9.00.