ebay final value fee help

louha-9100
Community Member

I am selling a guitar, I am new to ebay it was my buyer who bought it to my attention that ebay takes a massive chunk out of your sale, I sold it for $350 the buyer added the postage in the payment so i assume ebay thinks im selling it for $386.

They have charged me the $36 postage as well as taken a $50 chunk for themselves.

The guitar case got dropped so I offered the buyer a refund or a partial refund and they agreed partial but said I should have said the sale price was less to avoid the greedy fees. 

My question is, it's been posted already and half way there, can I somehow get around this fee or reduce it otherwise this whole sale was more stress than it was worth.

Like does anyone know if i say as the seller its cancelled and refund them the lot and resell to them if it will impact the postage?

Or if I can get some money back by partially refunding the buyer?

any help really appreciated thank you

Message 1 of 8
Latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

Do you have any idea of what you are doing. ??

Any idea - at all.??

Message 2 of 8
Latest reply

You won't get any fees back unless you cancel the sale. Not a good idea if the guitar is on its way.

The postage had to be paid by you regardless of how you sent it. Using an eBay label therefore is not specifically an eBay charge. The fees are, but eBay take their fees on the full value of the sale, including postage.

Give the partial refund you promised, wear the fees and spend the time it will take for the payment to hit your bank account (30 days probably - you are a new seller) reading about selling on eBay.

I'd suggest areas like fees, Managed Payments, refunds.

Message 3 of 8
Latest reply

Oh mon dieu.

@louha-9100, you're publicly posting that  you want to avoid paying the eBay fees. You need to read the eBay fee avoidance policy... and I hope that this will enlighten you about just how well that's going to go.