unfair feedback on ebay has anyone taken legal action before

Last month I posted about a customer who brought a learning DVD from us called   the

LATHE WORK FOR THE BEGINNER I am a Fitter & Turner by trade and during my earlier years of the trade did an extension as a technician which allowed me to become a Toolmaker which I have worked in and still do for over 40 years , I along  another Tradesman  in his workshop we produced a VCR on how to Work a Lathe for the Beginner , my main market was the farmer and hobbyist who had little or no experience in using a Lathe ,  in recent years we had it converted to Digital so it could use in today’s modern world, (knowledge never changes in this field) it was produced in 1992 and sold many copies above 1000 in  all states of Australia and in the UK and USA , was  produced for a learning aid not a future movie , in this time we have had only praise from many people who it helped.

This chap who brought the item was happy to watch it , then placed a claim thru Ebay that he never liked it and was no use to  him, to save any hassles I refunded him and sent an email to keep it lets move on.

But today he decides to give us feedback

poor quality and very basic for the price

I take this very personal first of he gets item for nothing watches it then has the gumption to slander by produce , what I am asking any of you out there , I am really p f with this fellow , and are considering getting legal advice for slander

Message 1 of 7
Latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Iremember many, many years ago, someone did sue for unfair feedback for damaging his reputation. Apparently though he was a lawyer so had all of the knowledge and avenues etc to do so. I have no idea what the outcome was though, sorry, but I do know that you are entitled to one advisory phone call to legal aid, if that helps.

Message 2 of 7
Latest reply