My father's ebay account got blocked for no reason.

Hi Ebay community.

I've been selling for many years and my father has needed his own account as he has entered retirement and gotten into hobbies.

However, for some reason, his account was permanently suspended. I can't see any reason why looking through his messages. He has sold through ebay so he doesn't have outstanding fees. Understandably, he's very upset because he just bought an item and was discussing postage and was about to pay when the account got locked.

Can someone please help with this?

Message 1 of 6
Latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

imastawka
Honored Contributor

I would suggest that something in those messages triggered the bot into thinking they were arranging an off-ebay purchase.

Are you sure it's permanent, and not just for a couple of weeks?

Message 2 of 6
Latest reply

It's permanent. He can't send messages or anything. No warning either. He only sent a message discussing postal insurance costs and how the item was to be packed.

Message 3 of 6
Latest reply

I'm hoping a ebay support member can help because I'm sure he didn't violate rules.

Message 4 of 6
Latest reply

@artess97 wrote:

I'm hoping a ebay support member can help because I'm sure he didn't violate rules.

eBay CS reps don't read here, so you father would need to contact them directly through the link below - scroll to the bottom and use the "contact us" option. He's needs to ask to speak to a supervisor as soon as it's possible, otherwise he'll just get bot-generated replies.

https://www.ebay.com.au/help/account/account-holds-restrictions-suspensions/account-holds-restrictio...

"Start me up I'll never stop......"
Message 5 of 6
Latest reply

@artess97 wrote:

It's permanent. He can't send messages or anything. No warning either.